Charcoal Sketch of Ethan

sketch

This is the initial sketch of Ethan done on my canvas with charcoal and ebony pencil. It is a rough drawing done as an understudy for the painting. I am the kind of painter that is constantly correcting drawing mistakes as I go. I would love to get it right from the very beginning, but this doesn’t usually happen. What I am looking to do at this stage is work out the placement of the figure, create a fairly accurate drawing, and establish the value pattern.

One comment

  1. This looks amazing. Charcoal is very unforgiving too. You’ve captured his personality it looks like! I’m impressed!


Leave a Reply

